In matter of life and death

I always get weird when people say:

I am pregnant!

Someone that I know and love died!

Why you tell me this news? I am horrible person to react on this news.

Scenario one:

I am pregnant!

me: yay!(not) why? didn’t you use contraceptive method? are you going to keep it?

their answer: yes! I am so happy!

me: are you sure you going to keep it? what about a job, are you ready?

I become the worst nightmare I doubt everything, bringing a life into the world is a big deal.

Scenario two:

someone is dead:

me: I am so sorry, for the record you are alive,

or they lived a happy life and an awkward pat in the back.

I feel so guilty not be able to be a normal human being when it comes to those situations, now when I hear that kind of news I am like and this is my cue to go.

Do people feel like that? Are there people out there that they more awkward than me? please tell me I need to know that I am not alone in this.

One thought on “In matter of life and death

  1. oh my god I am you. I’ve learned to stop at ‘I’m sorry’ or if I know them, ‘Is there anything I can do to help?’ but for situations like the pregnancy one? I’ve actually asked people “Is this a good thing or a bad thing?” so I can figure out how to respond! LOL we’re totally awkward and you are so not alone in this.

Leave a Reply

